« Back to news

Packaging New Zealand President details plans for a new direction

At yesterday's AGM, President Harry Burkhardt floated with the members plans to re-position the organisation.

Together with representatives from the Packaging Forum, Harry outlined plans to deliver one voice for packaging in New Zealand which will be forward thinking, strong and compelling, uniting the industry which is currently served by Packaging New Zealand providing advice, advocacy and promotion of the benefits of packaging for its members and the Packaging Forum who have focused on product stewardship and end-of-life solutions.

The outcome will remove confusion from the marketplace, provide alignment across design, marketing, manufacturing, retail, recovery and recycling industries, enabling a framework for packaging in New Zealand to transition to a circular economy.

At the meeting there was agreement on the desired outcomes for the packaging industry in New Zealand and support for the Executive of Packaging New Zealand to work with the Packaging Forum to determine the shape of an organisation which will deliver on these outcomes.

A timeframe has been placed upon this work, with substantial progress expected by the end of October - at which time it is anticipated that there will be further communications to the membership at large.

At the meeting the new Executive Committee who will be steering this work was elected:

Harry Burkhardt, Replas retains his position as President. He is now serving an unprecedented fourth term at the behest of the Executive Committee to ensure a smooth transition of the organisation into a new structure.
Similarly Murray Parrish, Oji Fibre Solutions has agreed to retain his position as Vice President, supporting Harry during this transition period.

Further nominations were confirmed as:

Andrew Gleason, Visy. Andrew signalled that he would be retiring during the year but was committed to ensuring Visy representation on the Executive.
Andrew Fox, Sealed Air
Alisdair Egan, Fuji Xerox
Elspeth MacRae, Scion
Julie Evans, Tetra Pak
Paul Kelly, Fonterra
Richard Hosking, Orora
Windsor Yang, NCI Packaging

The Executive are committed to ensuring that any change to the structure will meet the needs of the membership and Harry urged all members to consider the proposals floated at the meeting and socialise these in their own companies and throughout industry at large providing any feedback either directly to him, or through the Executive Director, Sharon Humphreys.
« Back to news